2 comments on “Everything is Awesome, but you need your husband’s permission!

  1. Loved this!

    Women always go from their father’s house to their husband’s house and unfortunately that is still true in many parts. For example in Islam you are not supposed to change your last name but the first thing the Pakistani government made me do was change it in my passport. Another example: when I tried to go to the Dubai courts to get married they said that my mom wasn’t considered a guardian and I needed a male relative in order to get married as per the Shariah law. I couldn’t even hire a lawyer who could represent me. And this is Dubai, a liberal, forward thinking state. I had to travel to Pakistan urgently to get my Nikah done.

    Women still have a long way to go before we are truly independent.

Give me your take on this... leave a reply.

